Current Amateur Rankings

Current Senior Amateur Rankings


How are the rankings calculated?

The SCGA's Player of the Year is awarded based on a point system earned through performance and participation throughout the course of the year. Points are awarded for top finishes in all of the major amateur events across the United States, but the emphasis of the point structure is put on participation in SCGA and CGA events.

In recent years, SCGA Player of the Year winners have ranged from former tour pros, to collegiate players, to lifelong amateurs. This is representative of the makeup of players who participate not only in SCGA events, but in amateur golf events across the nation. While the Senior division is limited to players 55 and older, its list of past winners displays a similar variety of players. From those who have been lifelong SCGA competitors having grown up and lived their entire life in South Carolina, to those who have relocated here either through work or retirement, the SCGA Senior division also boasts some of the best amateur golfers in the state.

Check out this year's list:

Past Honorees

SCGA Player of the Year SCGA Senior Player of the Year
YearPlayerHometownPts Earned YearPlayerHometownPts Earned
2016Todd WhiteSpartanburg349.2 2016Walter Todd Sr.Laurens368.8
2015Matt NesmithNorth Augusta587.5 2015Rick CloningerRock Hill412.9
2014Will MurphyColumbia415 2014Rick CloningerRock Hill462.5
2013Todd WhiteSpartanburg375 2013Rick CloningerRock Hill420
2012Todd WhiteSpartanburg438.8 2012Rick CloningerRock Hill472.5
2011Corbin MillsEasley440 2011Frank Ford, IIICharleston370
2010Todd WhiteSpartanburg463.3 2010Bill PalmerBluffton312.5
2009Mark AndersonBeaufort670.4 2009Frank Ford, IIICharleston437.5
2008Lee PalmsGreenville290 2008Frank Ford, IIICharleston293.3
2007Patrick RadaAnderson233.8 2007Frank Ford, IIICharleston360
2006Steve LieblerIrmo267.9 2006Bill PalmerBluffton380
2005Steve LieblerIrmo247 2005Tommy FordMt. Pleasant202
2004Todd WhiteMoore294.2 2004Johnny DennisGreenville295
2003Matt HendrixAiken425 2003Vic HannonCamden190
2002D.J. TrahanInman440 2002Vic HannonCamden235
2001D.J. TrahanInman416 2001Bob StringerBlythewood232.5
2000D.J. TrahanInman420 2000Woody GreeneColumbia180
1999Jonathan ByrdColumbia515 1999Dick HorneMt. PleasantN/A
1998Bert AtkinsonCharleston160     
1997Charles WarrenColumbia490     
1996Mark ThaxtonRock Hill160     
1995Bert AtkinsonCharleston190     
1994Chris WinchipColumbia150     
1993Kevin KingHilton Head170     
1992Frank FordCharleston160     
1991Bert AtkinsonCharleston220     
1990Robert DarganColumbia180     
1989Chris PattonFountain Inn315     
1988Kevin KingHilton Head180     
1987Marion DantzlerOrangeburg120